Another OMG Bird Encounter

Sharp-Shinned-Hawk

Sharp Shinned Hawk – Google

Miss Ellie’s encounter with a new OMG Bird

Yesterday warm temperatures induced me to open my garage door to give sunlight to my sub-tropical plants that are stored there for over wintering. A couple of hours later Miss Ellie opened the door to the garage from the Family Room to get something out of the freezer. She shrieked and slammed the door and screamed “ There is a huge bird in the garage “!

I carefully opened the door and an adult Sharp Shinned Hawk flew over my head. I grabbed my butterfly net to make an attempt to capture it. Fortunately it swooped down and flew out the opened garage door. I then noticed a big pile of feathers on the floor. I recognized them as Dove feathers. It appeared the hawk had chased the dove into the garage. I swept the feathers up but didn’t find the dove. I was afraid it was wounded and had crawled into my plants. When I looked over to my work bench near the door I discovered the the dove’s carcass in two sections, plucked clean and partially eaten. I took a couple of photos and disposed the body parts on my composite pile.

My beautiful picture
Plucked Dove breast & leg parts
My beautiful picture
As the song says,”The hip bone is connected to the leg bone”

I checked the yard and found the Sharpie had been a busy bird. There was a pile of Tufted Titmouse feathers under one of my feeders. I took another photo and showed them to Miss Ellie.

My beautiful picture

Tit Mouse feathers

Tufted Tit Mouse

Tufted Tit Mouse – Google

She wanted to know if I could shoot the predator when it came back. I explained they are protected and I would end up in jail for shooting it plus a big fine and also arrested for discharging a firearm in the city. She uttered something about the damned government and that we can shoot one another but not OMG birds and snakes.

Needless to say she probably will never become a “Birder” nor a herpotologist .

Ramblin Clyde

1 thought on “Another OMG Bird Encounter

Leave a comment